Interesting Scott Stapp article by On Tour Monthly

A place for all Creed discussion.
Shortman45
TABN.com Citizen

Interesting Scott Stapp article by On Tour Monthly

Post by Shortman45 »

Very interesting article.

http://www.ontourmonthly.com/exclusive- ... o-critics/

Despite the interviewer seemingly attacking Scott at times. I think Scot revealed some interesting things.
ON TOUR MONTHLY: I have been interviewing various musical artists for 35 years, so when I tell you that I’ve seen quite a bit in this business, I have. I’ll readily admit that I was surprised you became a punching bag for critics, and the front man journalists loved to hate. Then again, so are conservative Republicans, so you were in good company. How long did it take you to figure out you are in a business that loves you today, but quickly forgets then loathes you tomorrow.

Scott Stapp – I would say about ten years ago, in 2004, I began to look at the media with a different perspective. Creed had become one of the biggest bands in the world. I started looking back in history of groups that had reached the top and saw a pattern where the media had turned on artists they had previously supported. It occurred to me that every band that had made a name for themselves, eventually the press turned on them. Honestly, I think Chad Kroeger of Nickleback got it worse than I did. He just didn’t have a lot of the internal issues to deal with that we did.

OTM: I am really surprised you took the criticism seriously enough that you actually did research on other bands that were encountering the same problems you were.